You are here: Home > FACS NEWSLETTER > FACS Newsletter 2003 (2)


Prof. Chi-Ming Che

The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China

Chi-Ming Che received his BSc degree in Chemistry in 1978 and PhD degree in Inorganic Chemistry in 1982 from the University of Hong Kong. In 1980-1983, he studied at California Institute of Technology under Professor Harry B. Gray. He is currently Dr. Hui Wai-Haan Chair of Chemistry at the University of Hong Kong. He is an Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS, China, elected in 1995). He is a Professor of Peking University and Nanjing University in China. He is currently the Honorary Professor of the State Key Laboratory of Organometallic Chemistry, Shanghai Institute of Chemistry of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China. Professor Che is one of the two Principal Investigators of an Area of Excellence project in Hong Kong entitled "Institute of Molecular Technology for Drug Discovery and Synthesis".

Professor Che's research interests encompass a diverse area, including inorganic and organic synthesis, metal-catalyzed organic transformations (including asymmetric epoxidation, hydroxylation, amidation, and carbon-carbon bond formation), mechanism of nitrogen fixation, photo-induced electron and atom transfer reactions, electron transfer in biological systems, luminescent materials for molecular devices and DNA recognition, chemical biology of inorganic medicines and Traditional Chinese Medicines. Professor Che has more than 400 publications in leading Chemistry journals and 2 US patents. Professor Che is the 249th most cited chemist worldwide according to SCI citations between 1993-2003 (website source: ISI Web of KnowledgeTM). Professor Che is currently a member of the International Advisory Editorial Boards of Chemistry, A European Journal, and European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry.

Professor Che has received several prizes and awards, including The Sixth National Natural Science Prize of China in 1994, Chung-Hsing S&T Lectureship of Taiwan in 1997, Croucher Senior Research Fellowship from HKU in 1997, IUF Invited Professorship from France in 2000, Distinguished Researcher Award from HKU in 2000, and National Outstanding Young Scholar Award from The National Science Foundation of China (2000-2003).

Last updated:2016-05-06